Skip to main navigation Skip to content
School News

Dan Welsh Selected for Distinguished Service Award

At the conclusion of each school year, Girard College presents the Distinguished Service Award to a member of the staff who exemplifies the highest quality of work, a positive attitude, and commitment to the goals of the College. Recipients of this prestigious award must demonstrate a dedication to the mission of the school, an outstanding level of professionalism, and evidence of a significant contribution to the community.


Dan Welsh (right), who has worked in the Heat, Light, and Power department for four years, receives the 2022 Distinguished Service Award.

Dan Welsh has worked diligently in the Heat, Light, and Power department for four years. He provides lighting to all campus fixtures and emergency lights as well as supporting power needs for events all over campus.

Dan’s colleagues said:

“Dan consistently answers the call of duty while demonstrating the highest level of customer service. He ensures the functionality and safety of every piece of equipment he services.”

“Dan exemplifies the College’s mission statement and core values. He stands out amongst his peers.”

Dan's family celebrated his accomplishment at the Awards Chapel on June 8.

This is the 22nd year that Girard College has conferred the Distinguished Service Award, which traces its origins to former President Dominic Cermele and the Board of Managers.

Nominations can come from fellow staff members or current students of the school. Any potential recipient must have a minimum of 3 years of service to be eligible.

This year’s announcement was made at the Awards Chapel program on June 8 by Debbie Kohler, Associate Director of Human Resources.

Congratulations, and thank you, Dan!

Previous Distinguished Service Award Winners:

2000 — James Sypherd
2001 — Keith Steininger
2002 — Marion Saunders
2003 — William Gallagher
2004 — Sabrina Allen
2005 — James Wiant
2006 — Hazel Donnelly
2007 — William Marsee
2008 — Robert Fisher
2009 — Richard Olivastri
2010 — Kevin Giorno
2011 — Kerry Porter and Jason Smith
2012 — Barbara Wright
2013 — Tyrone Carter
2014 — Christine Enedy
2015 — Kathy Gillard
2016 — Paul Eaton and James Flanagan
2017 — Matthew Herrera and Michael Wood
2018 — Leonard Roberts
2019 — Andrew Wright
2020 — Rochelle Johnson
2021 — Maxine Dennison

Helpful Links