Skip to main navigation Skip to content
Faculty News

Maxine Dennison Selected for Distinguished Service Award

At the conclusion of each school year, Girard College presents the Distinguished Service Award to a member of the staff who exemplifies the highest quality of work, a positive attitude, and commitment to the goals of the College. Recipients of this prestigious award must demonstrate a dedication to the mission of the school, an outstanding level of professionalism, and evidence of a significant contribution to the community.

Ms. Maxine Dennison, who has served the Girard community for 13 years, first as a teacher and now as an academic coach in support of teachers, is a most deserving recipient of this year’s award. She cares deeply about her students and colleagues, and has made Girard a better place by giving freely of her gifts and talents.

Maxine’s colleagues were effusive in their praise of her impact on the community. To share a few examples:

“Maxine is always there when you need someone to talk to. She does the little things for the teachers and students that let you know she cares.”

“Maxine is the true definition of compassion. She never expects recognition for anything she does; she just does it with love.

“Maxine sees a need and fills it. She wears all the hats—teacher, administrator, coach, colleague, friend—and she does so with grace and selflessness.”

“Maxine is deeply dedicated to the students of Girard and the school’s mission. To the students, she is tough, but fair; a disciplinarian, but a cheerleader. She will call a student on their choices, but then help them make better ones. They love and respect her.”

Maxine sees a need and fills it. She wears all the hats—teacher, administrator, coach, colleague, friend—and she does so with grace and selflessness.

This is the 21st year that Girard College has conferred the Distinguished Service Award. Nominations can come from fellow staff members or current students of the school. Any potential recipient must have a minimum of 3 years of service to be eligible. This year’s announcement was made at the Staff Celebration Brunch on June 11 by Debbie Kohler, Associate Director of Human Resources.

Congratulations, and thank you, Maxine!

Award Announcement

Previous Distinguished Service Award Winners:

2000 — James Sypherd
2001 — Keith Steininger
2002 — Marion Saunders
2003 — William Gallagher
2004 — Sabrina Allen
2005 — James Wiant
2006 — Hazel Donnelly
2007 — William Marsee
2008 — Robert Fisher
2009 — Richard Olivastri
2010 — Kevin Giorno
2011 — Kerry Porter and Jason Smith
2012 — Barbara Wright
2013 — Tyrone Carter
2014 — Christine Enedy
2015 — Kathy Gillard
2016 — Paul Eaton and James Flanagan
2017 — Matthew Herrera and Michael Wood
2018 — Leonard Roberts
2019 — Andrew Wright
2020 — Rochelle Johnson

Helpful Links