Skip to main navigation Skip to content
School News

Class of 2021 College Decisions and Scholarships

Girard College is proud to share the postsecondary education plans and scholarship news for the legendary Class of 2021! These graduates persevered through a challenging year and are ready to pursue their academic and professional dreams.

Congratulations to the legendary Class of 2021!


Abele Scholar Award at Ursinus College
$40,000 over 4 years + $13,000 in additional support

  • Indiya Muhummad-Burrell ’21

The Abele Scholars Program increases access and affordability of an undergraduate education for students who demonstrate academic potential, financial need and a desire for the individualized educational experience offered at Ursinus College.

The McKee Scholarship
$24,000 over 4 years

  • Damir Bacon ’21
  • Gabriel Davis ’21
  • Brock Lyles ’21

Since 1955, the McKee Scholarship Program has aided hundreds of fatherless young men, providing them the means to pursue further education, both at the college level and by way of vocational training, and, thus, to honor the charitable intent of Colonel McKee.

Horatio Alger Scholarship
$10,000 to be used in the pursuit of a bachelor’s degree

  • Tiana Johnson ’21

As one of the nation’s largest need-based privately-funded college scholarship providers, the Horatio Alger Association assists high school students who have faced and overcome great obstacles to pursue their dreams through higher education. State Scholars have access to the full range of Association services, including a virtual college success program.

The Garofalo Scholarship
$2,000 over 1 year

  • Jameel Henry ’21
  • Tiana Johnson ’21
  • Jy’sir Robinson ’21

Dominic Garofalo was born in South Philadelphia in 1940. When he was 7, his father died, and he was living with his Mom and two teenage sisters. Working and unable to care for a young son, his mother enrolled him in Girard College where he attended 1st through 12th grade. Upon graduation, he worked full time and attended Temple University where he received his BS in Chemistry. Dominic then began work for Rohm & Haas where he stayed until his untimely death at 49.

Dominic frequently spoke of his years at Girard with gratitude for the exceptional education he received, the life-long friends he made and the values instilled in him that made him a kind, generous, and successful person. Girard College prepared him well for life; he became an exceptional man who was a gift to all who knew him. This scholarship was created to honor him, his school, and to assist students pursue their educational dreams.

The COMTO Scholarship
$2,000 over 1 year

  • Tori Miller ’21

Founded in 1971, the Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO) was created to provide an advocacy forum for minority professionals in the transportation industry. Since 1981, the COMTO Philadelphia Chapter has made efforts to provide opportunities for the advancement of minorities in the Philadelphia area regional transportation network.

Edward Taylor Coombs Foundation Book Awards

  • Jameel Henry ’21 ($500)
  • Tori Miller ’21 ($1,000)

The Edward Taylor Coombs Foundation was established with the intent of providing outstanding scholar/athletes financial assistance to pursue their higher education goals, so that they can reach their full potential. It is the intention of the foundation to give merit awards to graduating seniors who have recognized potential or academic strength; they have a desire to participate in and benefit from further education and/or training and have shown both maturity and responsibility.

Class of 2021 College Decisions By School

Updated as of June 28, 2021

Albright College

  • Jaden Dillard ’21
  • Jameel Henry ’21
  • Cah’leah Rogers ’21
  • Siani Thomas ’21
  • Danielle Trawick ’21

Columbus State University

  • Jy’sir Robinson ’21

Drexel University

  • Bryonna Small ’21

Gwynedd Mercy University

  • Tiara Andrews ’21
  • Feremusu Kuyateh ’21

Howard University

  • Jayda Delbrune ’21

La Salle University

  • Aviana Benton ’21

Lycoming College

  • Damir Bacon ’21

Morgan State University

  • Silvia Howard ’21

Pace University, New York

  • Tori Miller ’21

Penn State University, Harrisburg

  • Sabbath Kpollie ’21

Rochester Institute of Technology

  • Tyler-Cristofer Aluko ’21

Rosemont College

  • Mark Coney ’21

Temple University

  • Tiana Johnson ’21

The University of Alabama

  • Margaret Conteh ’21

Ursinus College

  • Indiya Muhummad-Burrell ’21

West Chester University

  • Gabriel Davis ’21
  • Brock Lyles ’21

Decisions Pending

  • Bunthone Kan ’21
  • Me’zel Square-Ward ’21
  • Mya White ’21
  • Hafizah Yilla ’21








Helpful Links